Birmingham Stallions win second consecutive USFL Championship

The Birmingham Stallions have won the first two championships of USFL 2.0.

The Stallions clinched their second consecutive title on Saturday night with a 28–12 victory over the Pittsburgh Maulers.

Over two seasons with a total of 24 games, the Stallions posted a 21–3 record under coach Skip Holtz.

League MVP Alex McGough again led the way for Birmingham with four touchdown passes and another 64 rushing yards. The MVP of the championship game, receiver Deon Cain, caught four passes for 70 yards and three scores. In the two post-season games, McGaugh threw eight touchdown passes and no interceptions. He added 148 rushing yards.

Pittsburgh had an early 3–0 lead, but Birmingham went on a 7–3 run and never trailed, reaching the final margin with a 14–9 halftime score. The Stallions’ defense kept Maulers out of the end zone; 12 of Pittsburgh’s points came on four field goals by Chris Blewitt.

For the second year in a row, the title game was played in Canton, Ohio.

The USFL was started in 1983. Fox revived the league last year. Games are broadcast by both Fox and NBC. The championship game appeared on NBC and the Peacock.

And thus ends the relay of football season that began with the NFL, continued a week after the Super Bowl with the XFL, and ended after a few weekend overlaps with the USFL.

The next step for USFL players will be to see if their efforts in the four-letter spring-and-summer league will result in tryouts and/or roster spots with NFL teams. McGaugh, the Seahawks’ seventh-round pick in 2017, has done enough to at least get some consideration.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]